Skip to content

Latinos Unidos Online

Home » Melymel Ft Ivy Queen “Se Te Apago La Luz”

Melymel Ft Ivy Queen “Se Te Apago La Luz”

Photo Credit: Juan Tamez
The most respected female rapper in the Dominican Republic, Melymel, A.K.A. “La Mama Del Rap” (The Mother of Rap), debuts her new video for “Se Te Apago La Luz” with urban icon Ivy Queen today with Rolling Stone and VEVO!

The hot fan favorite and stellar track, “Se Te Apago La Luz” with the reggaetón queen herself, Ivy Queen, and so far, has received 300K+ streams across all streaming platforms. Today, the video debut drops with Rolling Stone via VEVO who commented: “Melymel spits fire alongside Puerto Rican reggaeton royalty, Ivy Queen, in their brazen new trap single “Se Te Apago La Luz,” or “Turn Out the Light.”

Read and watch the “Se Te Apago La Luz” video exclusively on Rolling Stone: URL . And catch and share the video premiere on Melymel’s VEVO channel here:

Melymel wrote the hit song alongside Ivy Queen after an afternoon of cooking and sharing. The organic process of the writing contributed to the hard-hitting flow that each artist brings to the track. Melymel reflects, “Esto no es un junte musical, es un junte de guerreras que vibran en la misma frecuencia y el resultado es empoderamiento femenino en su más elegante expresión por y para el hip hop! Larga vida para las hembras alfas autodidactas.”[This is not just a musical collaboration, it is a collaboration of warriors who vibrate at the same frequency to bring female empowerment in its most elegant form by and for Hip-hip! Long live self-taught alfa females.”]

Ivy Queen adds, “Donde hay respeto y admiración todo fluye. Juntar nuestros pregones y poner nuestros lápices a correr al son del mismo ritmo, fue una experiencia muy agradable.” [When there is respect and admiration everything flows. Together we joined forces and put our pencils in sync, it was a very nice experience.”]

The new video comes out on the heels of Melymel’s new critically acclaimed album Dragon Queen (stream here: out now on the tastemaker label EMPIRE. It is a powerful nod to female empowerment, with a fresh sound and message that resonates with the Latin trap scene.

Dragon Queen is stacked with hits, created alongside cutting-edge producers and artists like Ivy QueenMozart La ParaNeka OneMestizaKool Kojak and more.Standouts include “IDGAF”“No One” Ft. Mozart La Para“Cuando Salimos”and “Si No Te Amara.” Dragon Queen continues to gain traction worldwide with each video achieving viral status! A so far it has garnered critical acclaim from some of the greatest tastemaker magazines including Noisey, HipHopDX, Latina Magazine, and Mitu.

Dragon Queen is Melymel’s third album but first release with leading imprint EMPIRE. Known for breaking the industry mold, EMPIRE records have become the premier independent record label with signed acts like JON Z, Tyga, Tego Calderón, XXXtentancion and now Melymel. “My first single signed to Empire was “IDGAF”! I’m excited to be partnering with such an incredible group and excited to get my music out to more people that don’t know me, and for those who know me, keep enjoying,” remarks Melymel.

Reflecting back on the new album Dragon Queen, Melymel comments, “Making this album has been one of the most complicated processes that I have gone through, not because of the realization of the songs but the situations that were presented in the realization of each project. Every time something like this happens, the result is very rewarding. I hope you enjoy the sound and can feel the effort that I put into each song. I want to thank God and everyone who participated in this album, thanks to EMPIRE for believing in me and thanks to the fans for their support.”

Actress, producer, singer and rapper, Melymel has been developing her professional career since 2005. Her early influences from 2PAC and Lauryn Hill were sought after by her as a kid, as rap music was not readily available on the island mainly filled with the more popular tunes from bachata, merengue, reggae and salsa influences. Her rise in popularity is noted with her 1.7+ million Instagram followers, her 20+ million YouTube views, and her strong feminine voice that has overtaken the trap scene worldwide. All of this success alongside the new album has catapulted Melymel into the forefront of trap music, and has shown us that she, in fact, is the Dragon Queen.

In celebration of the new release, Dragon Queen, Melymel is offering a unique fan experience with Tunespeak. Fans can get the chance to win a limited edition Dragon Queen merch pack with a personalized handwritten note from Melymel and an exclusive signed Dragon Queen poster by entering to win here or by visiting: Melymel will be touring this Winter in support of the new album, in the meantime follow her here and check out her new album here.

Track listing:

  1. “IDGAF”
  2. “No Hay Mas Na’ Que Hacer”
  3. “Si No Te Amara”
  4. “No One” Ft. Mozart La Para
  5. “Ella Sabe”
  6. “Cuando Salimos”
  7. “Se Te Apago La Luz” Ft. Ivy Queen
  8. “Involucrar”
  9. “Afterparty”
  10. “Yo No Toy En Chisme”
  11. “No Se Me Olvida” Ft. Neka One
  12. “Salgo Sola” Ft. Mestiza
  13. Donde Estuviera

Dominican rapper, Melymel, has been in the Spanish rap game for a long time solidifying herself as a lyrical beast.” –Latina Magazine

“The Dominican rapper wanted to make an album that embraces the scorching energy of her zodiac animal as well as herself, spitting fire over the production style that’s inescapable in today’s landscape.” – HipHopDX

Founded in 2010, EMPIRE has grown to become the leading independent distributor and label for urban music in the United States. Its clients include labels and artists, both developing and veteran stars, across hip hop, R&B, Latin, reggae, pop, rock, gospel, and country. The company has provided distribution, label services, and promotion for singles and albums by artists including Anderson .Paak, XXXTENTACION, Cardi B, Kendrick Lamar, DRAM, Fat Joe & Remy Ma, Migos, Shaggy, Snoop Dogg and many more. Find out more at: